Playlist: Hitoshi Kojo

Hitoshi Kojo is a Japanese artist who currently lives in Belgium. He has been working with multiple media - music composition, installation, performance, painting, sculpture, video, photo and those mixtures. The extensive activities are based on his animistic sensitivity that all the matters and the spaces have their own memories. Touching the objects, talking to animals and plants, resonating with atmosphere in the space. Such daily activities since the childhood are the basis of his works.

Since the move to Europe in 2004, the sound works such as making compositions, concerts, recordings have been placing more weight than other activities. His sound works are typically formed by dense layers of textures and tones, that are carefully arranged in the space. The sound of nature, noise, voice, instruments, etc. all the sounds are equally treated, and become elements to forming a molecular harmony in the sonic space that presents micro and macro-scape at the same time. His music physically osmoses into the body of listeners and makes continuous fluctuations to their physical barrier. In that sense, the listeners can become a part of the sonic universe while listening to it. Therefore he does not consider his recording only as a piece of composition nor as a document of a work, but also as a prepared material that can unfold a sound installation in any location.

His sound compositions have been released by experimental music labels such as Drone Records (Germany), Mystery Sea (Belgium), Kaon, Taâlem (France), Helen Scarsdale Agency, Alluvial Recordings, Olde English Spelling Bee, Peasant Magik (USA), etc, as well as his own label Octpia (until 2006) and omnimemento. Several compositions were released by aliases, mostly as Spiracle until 2010. He has been also creating experimental folkloric music with his wife Carole as Jüppala Kääpiö since 2006.

For more information, visit

Hitoshi Kojo's "Trans Eurasian Trauma Express" in geographical order

Ainu song and Jomon drum / Umeko Ando (Vocal), Oki (Tonkori), Toshi Tsuchitori (Jomon-ko)

No - Okina / Yasaka Shrine - Kanse-ryu

Tanin no Kao (The Face of Another) / Hitoshi Teshigawara (Director), Kobo Abe (Original novel), Music (Toru Takemitsu)

Suna no Onna (Woman in the Dunes) Soundtrack / Hitoshi Teshigawara (Director), Kobo Abe (Original novel), Music (Toru Takemitsu)

Horrors of malformed men / Teruo Ishii (Director), Tatsumi Hijiata (Malformed men)

Birthday Party from Philharmony / Haruomi Hosono

Gueum Sinawi - Korean Sanjo / Won Wan-chul (Daegeum), Yu Kyung-hwa (Chulhyunggeum), Lee Dong-hun (Haegeum), Yun Seo-kyoung (Ajaeng), Nam Sang-li (Percussion)

Bali Kecak

Java Gamelan

Tscham Dance / Menri Monastery

Altai Republic
Altai Kai throat singing / Amyr Akchin (Throat singing, Accordion)

T. R. Mahalingam

Sundaram Balachander

Ustad Asad Ali Khan


Russia, USSR
Andrei Tarkovsky

Kazakh kuy / Raushan Orazbaeva (Kyl-kobyz)

Sergei Parajanov

Iancu Dumitrescu

Moomin / Tove Marika Jansson

Czech Republic
Krtek / Zdenek Miler

Jan Svankmajer

Orgien mysterien theaters / Hermann Nitsch

Rolf Julius

Vitamin C / Can

The Day of Saint Sylvester

Royaume / Etant Donnes

Ligeliahorn / Metgumbnerbone

Cowl / Organum

Slur from Horse Rotorvator / Coil

Futurismo from Merzbild Schwet  / Nurse With Wound

Buoy / Mick Karn and David Sylvian

Lazy Calm from Victorialand / Cocteau Twins

Swallow from Tremolo EP / My Bloody Valentine

No comments: